Community Preservation Committee

Community Preservation Committee is responsible for the expenditures authorized by the adoption of the Community Preservation Act. The Committee evaluates community preservation needs, develops a long range community preservation plan, and makes recommendations for the CPA Fund expenditures at Town Meeting.

The Community Preservation Committee consists of nine members, one each from the Open Space Committee, the Conservation Committee, the Planning Board, the Parks & Recreation Commission, the Historical Commission, the Housing Authority, and three members appointed by the Board of Selectmen for three-year terms. The Community Preservation Act (CPA) is a funding tool to assist communities with the protection and acquisition of open space, preservation of historic resources, and the creation of affordable housing.~ The CPA provides for local autonomy in deciding where and how funds will be spent. It is the responsibility of the Committee (CPC) to consult with Town departments and boards and community organizations; evaluate community preservation needs, develop a long range community preservation plan; and make recommendations for CPA fund expenditures at Town Meeting.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Kathy Joubert Town Planner / Staff Liaison (508) 393-5019